Transcribed statement of Jerome Block Jr. at his Wednesday sentencing hearing

Posted: March 28, 2012 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , , , ,

Jerome Block Jr. on Feb. 20, 2012. (Courtesy Santa Fe County jail)

State politics reporter Trip Jennings covered Wednesday afternoon’s Jerome Block Jr. sentencing hearing in Santa Fe and transcribed the majority of that statement Block gave the court moments prior to being sentenced to probation (Click here for Trip’s article, which also contains the statement):

“Again, I come to you today as a drug addict in remission, something I am not very proud of and something that didn’t spare me. I do have a problem. I can’t address the problem, your honor, without my support group, you know, the family. They are recommending that I stay away from … It’s the family that I need to be around. I haven’t been around them for the past few months.

“Even though I am growing, almost six months clean today, your honor, I’m going to ask that you give me a chance to be a productive member of society, be a good father, a good husband, and … rebound from my fall.

“Last time you asked me to get a taste of what it was like in prison, and it’s not fun, your honor. The deputy warden, upon my arrival at the prison, told me, ‘Nothing good happens here, Jerome. This is the end of the road for a lot of people. You have two choices: you can stay at the end of the road; or you can turn around and walk back to the top.’ And today, your honor, I am going to ask you that you give me the opportunity to walk back to the top because I know I can do it.

“I feel that I am not a bad person. I am just a person that unfortunately fell into the hands of drugs and I want to escape that grasp and become the person that I once was.

“With that, I appreciate your time.”

— Jerome Block Jr., March 28, 2012

Leave a Reply

