They still make those? New Mexico State Police to retire media pager

Posted: August 2, 2011 in Uncategorized
Tags: ,

The New Mexico State Police public information officer is retiring his pager after "a long and distinguished career." (Photo courtesy of New Mexico State Police... yes, that's the actual pager that is retiring)

I think Sgt. Tim Johnson may have said it best in an e-mail he sent out to reporters around the state this morning:

After a long and distinguished career the NMSP/DPS PIO pager will be retired as of 4 PM on Friday, August 5, 2011.  From that point forward all questions/inquiries/requests should be routed through a generic state email address that has been set up.

I know. It’s hard to believe. I’m choked up myself. I’m sure the pager will be given a ceremonial “last buzz” on Friday afternoon before the battery is pulled for the last time.

OK, so I know this isn’t exactly hard crime news, but I thought I’d share anyway. Some might find it hard to believe state police were still using a pager as its preferred method of contact with reporters around the state. Truth is I always seemed to forget there was a pager and just called everyone on their cell phone or shot them an e-mail anyway. I’m a rebel I guess.

I’m sure we’ll all toast with our favorite cold beverage on Friday afternoon to the retirement of the pager. I’ll be sure to post pictures from the parade and/or retirement ceremony I’m sure state police are planning for this sad, sad event.

And so all you kids reading can understand what us old timers are talking about, here you go: What the hell is a pager?

I recommend you check that link out with your iPhone or Android and read up. It might work well for a history report once school starts up in a couple weeks.

Leave a Reply

