Spell check latest victim of City of Santa Fe cutbacks?

Posted: July 16, 2011 in Uncategorized
Tags:

CLICK TO ENLARGE -- A City of Santa Fe sign at Ragle Park on Saturday, July 16. (Courtesy photo from blog follower)

This pic was sent to me by a SantaFeCrime.com reader who thought I, and of course the rest of the blog followers, might enjoy it.

It looks as though the City of Santa Fe has had to cut back on the proof reading of signage around town this summer. As a journalist who can’t even spell his own name like a regular person (Geoff with a G, really? And what’s with the E-R in Grammer?), I can’t tell you how happy I am to have some copy editors clean up my mess on a daily basis for the newspaper.

But this blog is all me, unfortunately, and I’m sure errors like the one in this sign happen here plenty. To be fair, and contradict this post’s headline, spell check wouldn’t have saved the day on this one.

I’m also Always a big fan of Random Capitalization of some words But not Others in signs. But the exclamation point on the “Thank You!” sure sends you off feeling pretty good about yourself, doesn’t it?

Leave a Reply

