Tucson TV station won’t air ‘Law and Order’ episode based on shooting

Posted: May 10, 2011 in Uncategorized
Tags: ,

Reading a former colleague’s story in Tucson today on an interesting decision from a television station there and thought I’d share, even though it’s not Santa Fe crime.

KVOA-TV in Tucson, an NBC affiliate, has decided it will not air a May 16 episode of Law & Order based on the Jan. 8 shooting of U.S. Rep. Gabrielle Giffords and so many more at the Safeway.

“I’m sure I will get some calls or emails expressing the fact that they’re not happy with my decision, but ultimately that’s why I do what I do and I have to make the call.” — KVOA General Manager Bill Shaw said.

Here are some links:

The topic also gives me somewhat of an excuse to post a tearjerker of a story from ESPN’s documentary series E:60 about Christina-Taylor Green, who played in the Canyon del Oro Little League right by my old home when I worked in Tucson. If you have the time, this is a great piece on the young woman killed in the Tucson mass-shooting:

Leave a Reply

