Fund set up to assist Leland Valdez’s family

Posted: January 27, 2011 in Uncategorized
Tags: ,

Leland Valdez fund (CLICK TO ENLARGE)

A fund to help the family of 3-year-old Leland Valdez has been set up at Wells Fargo Bank in and around Santa Fe.

Leland died at 8:53 a.m. Wednesday as the result, police say, of severe beating from either his mother, her boyfriend or both.

The bank fund can be accessed by anyone asking for the Leland Valdez Memorial Fund.

Here is a link to the article that published in Thursday’s New Mexican:

And here is the story that ran in Wednesday’s paper I wrote on Tuesday after learning of the abuse before Leland’s death:

Comments
  1. fred stokes says:

    Two items:

    1. Sorry, Geoff,
    “A fund to help the family of 3-year-old Leland Valdez has been set up at Wells Fargo Bank in and around Santa Fe.”

    Isn’t that a little imprecise given the circumstances? His mother is certainly part of the family. Is she getting any of this? And the father? How reliable is he? Is there some sort of trustee looking over these funds?

    2. The two suspended CYFD employees. I hope there is a follow up on this. I fear that a couple of months from now these two will be quietly returned to their jobs, and the only repercussions for them will be a couple of months of paid vacation.

    Please don’t let this quietly die.

  2. geoffgrammer says:

    Fred, these funds certainly are not for the mother at this point but intended to held with burial and funeral expenses being incurred by the father, Andrew Valdez. As to your question about “How reliable is he?” all I can say is I’m not sure. I do not know him.

    I do know that not seeing my own 15-month old daughter awake more than a few hours the past few days while working this story has me willing to let you know I have no intention of following up on where the funds to this memorial account go. If you hear they don’t go toward helping a young family (Andrew Valdez, his wife, his 4-year-old daughter, his step daughter and his newborn son), feel free to let me know.

    I know you obviously don’t agree, but I make no apologies to posting a flyer on my blog about this memorial fund. I’ve posted similar information about other crime victims in the past.

    As to the second question about the CYFD employees, I am absolutely doing follow up on this story. I can not at this point get in to details about some of the information we’ve learned, but there will be follow up on this story from myself and others at this newspaper in the coming weeks.

    I can promise to you and the readers the CYFD part of this story will not be swept under the rug.


    Geoff Grammer
    ggrammer@sfnewmexican.com

    • fred stokes says:

      **I do know that not seeing my own 15-month old daughter awake more than a few hours the past few days while working this story has me willing to let you know I have no intention of following up on where the funds to this memorial account go.***

      I am not sure of the logic of this except that it shows that you are caring individual as opposed to an insensitive lout like me.

      But I have multiple children and grandchildren, and I think if people give to what is described as a good cause then they should have some assurance that the donation goes to a good cause.

      • fred stokes says:

        And please note — I was not asking you to follow up. I was trying to point out questions that you failed to ask up front.

  3. Ted Gutierrez says:

    I live in San Diego and stopped by a Wells Fargo to donate but they couldn’t find the account set up for donations; any suggestions.

    thank you

    • geoffgrammer says:

      This from Andrea Martinez who helped set up the account:

      “I just got off the phone with the bank and there should not be any problems accessing the account from any location. If anyone else should have any issues trying to locate the account it is set up under ‘Andrew Valdez/Leland Valdez Memorial Fun’.

      If you have any other questions please let me know.”


      Geoff Grammer
      ggrammer@sfnewmexican.com

  4. geoffgrammer says:

    Ted, I will forward your question in an e-mail to the family friend who set up the account at a Wells Fargo office here in Santa Fe and see if I can’t get you an answer.


    Geoff Grammer
    ggrammer@sfnewmexican.com

  5. SUE ELLEN says:

    1. THE FAMILY HAS SET UP THE FUND FOR FUNERAL EXPENSES. IF YOU ARE CONCERNED AS TO WHERE THE FUNDS ARE GOING TO THEN DON’T DONATE. PLAIN AND SIMPLE.
    2. ANDREW IS A GRIEVING PARENT (WHO DID NOT PARTAKE IN THE EVENTS LEADING TO HIS SON’S DEATH THE MOTHER DID) I DON’T THINK HIS CREDIBILITY SHOULD EVEN BE A QUESTION.
    WE SHOULD BE OFFERING OUR CONDOLENCES TO LELAND’S FATHER AND THE VALDEZ FAMILY NOT MAKING NEGATIVE COMMENTS. MAY GOD BLESS YOU LELAND.

Leave a Reply

