Cranky crime writer thanks the sheriff’s office for that 6 a.m. wake up call

Posted: September 13, 2010 in Uncategorized
Tags: , ,

When the Santa Fe County Sheriff’s Office is waking me up long before my 10-month-old daughter usually wakes me up, it better be important.

I’m signed up for text-message alerts on my cellular telephone from the sheriff’s office for what I would hope would either be very important messages, or at least more time appropriate. So when I heard my cell phone beeping at 6 a.m. Monday morning, I knew there was something big going on.

I was wrong.

Here was the message sent out via the Nixle system (which other than today’s 6 a.m. wake up call is a very good service to the community):

Blue,1998, Pontiac, 2 door bearing New Mexico Registration LWF-633 stolen from Dinosaur Trail.

On Sunday, September 12, 2010 at 10:34 PM an unidentifed, Hispanic male took a blue in color, 1998, Pontiac, GS-6, 2 door, bearing New Mexico Registration LWF-633 from the Dinosaur Trail area. The victim had picked the suspect up hitch hiking and was giving him a ride. The suspect struck the victim in the head with an unopened can of beer and susbsequently fled the area with the vehicle. The victim sustained a laceration to his head and was treated at Christus Saint Vincent Regional Medical Center and released.

Anyone having knowledge of the where abouts of the vehicle is asked to contact the Santa Fe County Sheriff’s Office at 505-428-3720.

I’m sure this is very important to the person involved, but it’s hardly the only stolen car or assault case that has been investigated in the past few weeks around Santa Fe. Why wake up all those signed up for the text messaging service with this? I’m looking for Amber alerts, immediate public safety concerns or regular business-hour messages.

… can anyone tell the cranky crime writer didn’t get his required hours of beauty sleep last night?

Comments
  1. Roscoe Coltrane says:

    I suspect you’d be complaining about an amber alert at 6 am too. You are either concerned about crime, all crime or you’re not.

  2. geoffgrammer says:

    I woke up when Santa Fe PD called me at 4:04 a.m. Monday and had a story posted by 5 a.m. on a Sunday night homicide and a second shooting from two hours later. I didn’t mind that in the slightest.

    A car burglary, sorry to say, doesn’t rise to that level in my mind.

    And while I love the handle (who couldn’t love Roscoe?), I think you’re being a tad dramatic with the “You are either concerned about crime, all crime or you’re not.” statement. By your rational, I should be getting calls 24/7 on all jaywalking, DWI, graffiti and warrant arrests.

    I love my job, but also love my family and the little bit of life outside of work I have so no apologies here for thinking a 6 a.m. auto burglary alert is a bit over the top.

    Thanks for the post.


    Geoff Grammer
    ggrammer@sfnewmexican.com

Leave a Reply

